Student Affairs

Student Clubs

African American Medical Student Association

African American Medical Student Association

Student group for African American medical students and those interested in AA health disparities.

AAMSA seeks to promote diversity and enrichment of the student body at UACOM. This club will serve as a medium to foster the development of African American medical students on our campus while serving as a resource for prospective medical students and provide a platform to address health disparities prevalent among the African American community.

Chair: Shannon Collins, shannoncollins@email.arizona.edu

Secretary: James Onwuzurike,jamesonwuzurike@email.arizona.edu

Outreach Coordinator: Toyosi Oduyemitoduyemi@email.arizona.edu

 

Aging Interest Group

This club promotes awareness of health issues pertaining to older patients across every specialty in medicine.  Students are invited to participate in the Senior Mentor Program, Geriatric Elective, volunteer events in the community, and physician shadowing/discussions.

President: Samantha Russell, samantharussell@email.arizona.edu

Vice President: Jayce Pangilinan, jaycepangilinan@email.arizona.edu

Events Coordinator: Danny Hintze, dehintze@email.arizona.edu

 

American Medical Association (AMA)

Medical students are represented in the AMA through their own democratic, policy-making body: the American Medical Association - Medical Student Section (AMA-MSS).

Core Purpose
The AMA-MSS is dedicated to representing medical students, improving medical education, developing leadership, and promoting activism for the health of America.

Envisioned Future
The AMA-MSS strives to be the medical students' leading voice for improving medical education, advancing health care and advocating for the future of medicine.

 

Chair: Angela Wu, awu112@email.arizona.edu

Vice Chair: Jayce Pangilinan, jaycepangilinan@email.arizona.edu

Community Outreach and Membership Chair: Zoey Harris, zih@email.arizona.edu

Legislation and Policy Chair: Zachary Rockov, zrockov@email.arizona.edu

Class of 2019 National Delegate: Daniel Hintze, dehintze@email.arizona.edu

Class of 2019 State Delegate: Marisela Mariscal, mariscal@email.arizona.edu

 

Class of 2017 National Delegate: Kelly Hager

Class of 2018 National Delegate: Alejandro Lecinas Sanabria

Class of 2018 State Delegate: Jared Brock

 

American Medical Student Association (AMSA)

AMSA is a student run organization that focuses on international health, student well-being, and minorities and women in medicine. 

President: Sophia Spadafore, sspadafore@email.arizona.edu

Vice President/Treasurer: Diana Biggs, dbiggs1@email.arizona.edu

National Liason: Claire Lamneck, clamneck@email.arizona.edu

 

American Women's Association (AMWA)

This organization is dedicated to advancing women in medicine and improving women’s healthcare.

President: Jayce Pangilinan, jaycepangilinan@email.arizona.edu

Vice-President: Toyosi Oduyemi, toduyemi@email.arizona.edu

Treasurer: Natalie Jo Horwitz, horwitzna@email.arizona.edu

Secretary: Shawna Chagoury, chagoury@email.arizona.edu

Events Subcommittee Chair: Serah Mbugua, smbugua@email.arizona.edu

Community Outreach Chair: Theresa Thai, theresanthai@email.arizona.edu

 

Anesthesia Interest Group (AIG)

The Anesthesia Interest Group (AIG) aims to promote an interest in anesthesiology and to foster mentoring relationships between medical students and anesthesiology faculty.

President: Ryan Grieger, rgrieger@email.arizona.edu

Vice President: Julia Sobel, jdsobel@email.arizona.edu

Treasurer: Brian Singer, bsinger321@email.arizona.edu

Secretary: Erika Velazquez, evelazq@email.arizona.edu

 

Arizona Hematology Oncology Club

Cancer has become one of the leading causes of death in the world. As future doctors, we will all get to work and interact with cancer patient on some level. It is important for us to understand the different aspects of the disease and to know how to approach such experiences. While it might look like this club is geared towards students that are interested in hematology and oncology, others might find some of our activities beneficial for them as well. We plan on incorporating more patient centered lunch talks and possibly some volunteering activities.

Some of our current activities include lunch talks, bake sales and Relay for life. We are currently trying to come up with more activities and different ways to get involved in our local community and cancer prevention.

Head Coordinator: Zoey Harris, zih@email.arizona.edu

Activities Coordinator: Jennifer Sedler, jlsedler@email.arizona.edu

Research Coordinator: Samantha Russell, samantharussell@email.arizona.edu

Treasurer: Theresa Thai, theresanthai@email.arizona.edu

 

Arizona Surgery Club (ASC)

The mission of the Arizona Surgery Club is to foster interests in surgery by providing students with resources to further their experiences.

Co-President: Ryan Palsma - rppalsma@email.arizona.edu

Co-President: Bryn Nisbet - bnisbet@email.arizona.edu

Treasurer: Zachary Rockov - zrockov@email.arizona.edu

Club Outreach Coordinator: John Perkin - jperkin@email.arizona.edu

ASTEC Simulation Coordinator: Austen Thompson -athomp12@email.arizona.edu

Animal/Cadaver Lab Coordinator: Pedram Montamedi  pmotamed@email.arizona.edu

Research and Shadowing Coordinator: Peyton Nisson pnisson@email.arizona.edu

Skills Trainers

Giulianna Repetti grepetti@email.arizona.edu

Jared Barnett barnettj@email.arizona.edu

Yadira Villalvazo  yadiravillalvazo@email.arizona.edu

 

Asian/Pacific American Medical Student Association (APAMSA)

An organization that explores the unique issues and challenges that pertain to Asian/Pacific-American medical students.

President: Abigail Ahyong, aahyong@email.arizona.edu

Secretary/Treasurer: Christine Chiu, cechiu@email.arizona.edu

Outreach and Diversity Coordinator: Ted Lin, tmlin@email.arizona.edu

 

Association of Native American Medical Students (ANAMS)

A group that supports Native American Medical Students and promotes Native American Health.

Co-President: Sylvester Moses, smoses@email.arizona.edu

Co-President: Shannon Zullo, shannonrwatson@gmail.com

Vice President: Lacy Manuelito, lacy_manuelito@yahoo.com

Secretary: Marisela Mariscal, mariscal@email.arizona.edu

Treasurer: Jeremy Gneck, jgneck@email.arizona.edu

 

Pages