Faculty & Staff

College of Medicine – Tucson Staff Advisory Committee

The mission of the College of Medicine Staff Advisory Committee (COMSAC) is to foster exceptional employee engagement and professionalism across the entire College by encouraging informed communication, cooperation, productivity, and a collaborative partnership between classified staff, appointed personnel, faculty, and administration.

COMSAC serves as the organized empowerment entity for all classified staff and appointed personnel who do not function in a supervisory role of other employees in their daily roles within the UA College of Medicine. COMSAC takes an active role in promoting positive recognition of staff contributions to, and involvement in, the College of Medicine’s goals and objectives. COMSAC advocates professional and personal growth of staff through the annual employee recognition of excellence awards event.

COMSAC is comprised of key individuals who are truly interested in mentoring excellence on all levels of professional and personal performance, and who can offer constructive guidance to staff to help them achieve their program’s specific goals. This group provides a forum for all stakeholders to communicate their opinions, share their expertise, and coordinate efforts toward common goals. 

Employee Recognition Nomination Form

Call for Nominations

Lura Hanekamp Award for Excellence (COM)

The Lura Hanekamp Award of Excellence is presented to two COM classified (administrative pay grade 1-31 and administrative pay grade 32-40+) and one COM appointed personnel employee (research/appointed personnel) annually. Look out for the opportunity to nominate a co-worker who earns this type of recognition.  ** Due to ongoing changes in the College of Medicine Leadership, COMSAC has decided not to host an awards event in the 2019 calendar year.**  Check back for updates in the coming months.

Council Members:

Jennifer Bunger - Co-Chair    Claudia R. Duran - Co-Chair           
Steve Froehlich - Committee Member  Gilbert Maldonado - Committee Member  Sasha Verdugo - Committee Member


Membership in COMSAC is an excellent opportunity for you to grow.

Gain Self Confidence
Improve Job Performance through Networking
Gather Material for a More Powerful Resume

Contact Claudia R. Duran (crduran@email.arizona.edu) for membership information.