Faculty Affairs

2017 Faculty Mentoring Awards

In the spirit of recognizing the importance of mentorship for the success of the faculty at the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson, the Dean’s Council on Faculty Affairs each year honors those who dedicate their time as mentors with Faculty Mentoring Awards.

The 2017 College of Medicine Faculty Mentoring Awards recognized the following faculty for their mentorship contributions:

Mihra Taljanovic, MD, PhD
Professor, Department of Medical Imaging
“She continues to encourage me to be the best physician possible while showing me the importance of becoming the best person possible.”

Jil Tardiff, MD, PhD
Professor, Department of Medicine
"Dr. Tardiff has been an unwavering mentor for my career since it started in the early 1990s.”

Nathan Ellis, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
“In the end, Dr. Nathan Ellis has kept me from failing many times, and has contributed to each of my successes."

Jarrod Mosier, MD
Associate Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine
“Without his guidance I would not have achieved a fraction of what I have.”

Frank Porreca, PhD
Professor, Department of Pharmacology
“His passion for science was infectious and his enthusiasm was inspiring.”

Sydney Rice, MD
Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics
“Closely learning about and observing Dr. Rice's mentoring and leadership style is one of the most honorable opportunities that I experienced.”