Faculty Affairs

2018 Faculty Mentoring Awards

In the spirit of recognizing the importance of mentorship for the success of the faculty at the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson, the Dean’s Council on Faculty Affairs each year honors those who dedicate their time as mentors with Faculty Mentoring Awards.

The 2018 College of Medicine Faculty Mentoring Awards recognized the following faculty for their mentorship contributions:

Marc E. Tischler, PhD
Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
“Dr. Tischler has been an incredible mentor, advisor and friend… a number of examples where he literally changed my life by advising me at critical points in my career.”

Dale P. Woolridge, MD, PhD
Professor, Emergency Medicine
“Dr. Woolridge’s office is always open, his phone is always on and his home is always available to those who need his help.”

Rajesh Khanna, PhD
Professor, Pharmacology
“While Raj’s mentoring directly helped me as a scientist, physician, and a person, it also helped me to become a mentor myself.”

Anne E. Cress, PhD
Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine
“Seeing her success as a leader and having insight to her understanding of what it takes to get there have been crucial for my development.”

Kathryn L. Reed, MD
Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
“She has tirelessly promoted my research, introduced me to people influential to my success, and supported my goals for furthering my education.”

Helen M. Amerongen, PhD
Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine
“Thankfully for me (and many others), she has graciously shared her time and talents to positively impact my efforts to carve out a career with an education focus.”