Faculty Affairs

2016 Faculty Mentoring Awards

In the spirit of recognizing the importance of mentorship for the success of the faculty at the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson, the Dean’s Council on Faculty Affairs each year honors those who dedicate their time as mentors with Faculty Mentoring Awards.

The 2016 College of Medicine Faculty Mentoring Awards recognized the following faculty for their mentorship contributions:

Judith Gordon, PhD, Professor, Department of Family and Community Medicine:
“As she should, Dr. Gordon lets me struggle through the details of challenges myself, but she provides support and information that assist me in coming to decisions.”

Paul Gordon, MD, MPH, Professor, Department of Family and Community Medicine:
"He encouraged me to take risks, engage more fully in teaching and to thoughtfully engage in challenging dialogues.”

John Hughes, MD, Associate Professor, Department of Surgery:
“He changed my life and my practice and I know that the patients under my care are better for his role in my training”.

Paul Krieg, PhD, Professor, Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine:
“No UA career workshop that I have ever attended has matched the wisdom and common sense that Dr. Krieg provides, and, in fact, he should be giving some of these workshops.”

Sairam Parthasarathy, MD, Professor, Department of Medicine:
“He is nationally knows in sleep medicine, and with his support, I have been able to participate in sleep medicine workshops and present my research at international conferences.”

Baldassare Stea, MD, PhD, Professor and Chair, Department of Radiation Oncology:
“During every interaction with him he imparts some piece of wisdom that enhances training and career development.”