College of Medicine – Tucson Founders Honored at Founding Faculty Dinner

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

More than 200 people attended the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson’s Founding and Early Faculty Dinner on Monday, Feb. 19. The annual event recognizes the pioneering group of individuals who helped establish the college in 1967. The event, which took place at the Tucson Country Club, featured a special medallion presentation by Dean Charles Cairns, MD. The following individuals were recipients of a 2018 dean’s medallion for their contributions to the college:

Harvey “Bill” Buchsbaum, MD
Dr. Buchsbaum joined the College of Medicine – Tucson in 1967 as the first neurologist. While here, he received multiple recognitions, including Outstanding Teaching Awards and the Distinguished Teaching Professor Award.

George Hedge, PhD
Dr. Hedge was recruited in 1968 to the Department of Physiology. He focused on teaching students about the peripheral nervous system and endocrinology, a fundamental subject in medicine.

Mark Kartchner, MD
Dr. Kartchner became a research associate in the Department of Surgery in 1967. He eventually climbed the ranks, becoming an Assistant Clinical Professor of Surgery. All the while, he has diligently donated hundreds of hours to humanitarian work.

David Mount, PhD
Dr. Mount joined the College of Medicine – Tucson in 1968 as a microbiologist. He eventually served as Director of Bioinformatics at the UA’s Arizona Cancer Center and the Southwest Environmental Sciences Center.

Douglas Stuart, PhD
Dr. Stuart joined the college in 1967 as an associate professor of physiology. He later became the acting department head of anatomy, the physiology department head and the college’s associate dean for research.

Oscar Thorup, MD
Dr. Thorup was one of the original “Big Three” college founders and the first chairman of the Department of Medicine. Alongside Monte DuVal, MD, and Philip Krutzsch, MD, Dr. Thorup traveled across the state to garner support for the medical school. Oscar also had a hand in designing the school from the ground up, developing curriculum and recruiting early faculty and the first class of students. Dr. Thorup died in 2002, but his daughter, Cathryn, was presented with a medallion.

Raymond Woosley, MD, PhD
Dr. Woosley became dean of the College of Medicine – Tucson and vice president of the Arizona Health Sciences Center in 2001. He is not an original founding faculty member but was recognized for his significant contributions as a dean.