More Than 150 COM-T Physicians Recognized as `Best Doctors in America'

Thursday, February 1, 2018

More than 150 physicians in the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson have been recognized on the Best Doctors in America® List for 2017-2018. Only 4 percent of U.S. physicians earn this prestigious honor.

Physicians and their organizations cannot pay to be selected as Best Doctors, nor does Best Doctors pay physicians to be named on the database. Each candidate must receive peer consensus as a health care provider from whom other physicians would seek care. Candidates are first nominated and then receive voting consensus from current Best Doctors.

This year’s UA College of Medicine – Tucson honorees are:

Srikar Adhikari, Emergency Medicine
Geoffrey L. Ahern, Neurology
Frederick R. Ahmann, Medical Oncology and Hematology
Leila Ali-Akbarian, Family Medicine
Joseph S. Alpert, Cardiovascular Disease
Richard Amini, Emergency Medicine 
Neil M. Ampel, HIV/AIDS, Infectious Diseases (SAVAHCS)
Brent Barber, Pediatric Specialist
C. Mark Bazzell, Critical Care Medicine
Holly G. Beach, Family Medicine
Matthew Berkman, Emergency Medicine
Daniel L. Beskind, Emergency Medicine
John W. Bloom, Critical Care Medicine, Pulmonary Medicine & Clinical Pharmacology
Eric A. Brody, Cardiovascular Disease
Rosemary Browne, GGP (SAVAHCS)
Harvey W. Buchsbaum, Neurology
Colleen Cagno, Family Medicine
Brian J. Cammarata, Anesthesiology 
Raymond F. Carmody, Radiology
Janet M. Campion, Pulmonary Medicine
Edward R. Carter, Pediatric Specialist
Lisa Chan, Emergency Medicine
Conrad Clemens, Pediatrics
Elizabeth Connick, Infectious Disease
Lynn Marie Coppola, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Catherine Marie Cosentino, Pediatric Specialist
Bruce M. Coull, Neurology
John Thomas Cunningham, Gastroenterology
Clara N. Curiel, Dermatology
Cori Danies, Pediatric Specialist
Keith R. Dveirin, Pediatrics
Sean P. Elliott, Pediatric Specialist
Mindy Fain, GGP
Paul E. Fenster, Cardiovascular Disease
Martha A. Fielder, Anesthesiology
Albert B. Fiorello, Emergency Medicine
Hillary A. Franke, Pediatric Specialist
Mark J. Friedman, CARD
Mary G. Gaspers, Pediatric Specialist
Paul Gee, Geriatric Medicine & Internal Medicine
Brenda A. Gentz, Anesthesiology
Kimberly D. Gerhart, Pediatrics
Fayez K. Ghishan, Pediatric Specialist
Mark D. Gilbert, Psychiatry
Gerald N. Goldberg, Dermatology
Steve Goldschmid, Gastroenterology
Stephen A. Goldstein, Otolaryngology
Paul R. Gordon, Family Medicine
Jennifer Gunther, Psychiatry
Allan J. Hamilton, Neurological Surgery
Robert Harland, Surgery
Kenneth D. Hatch, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Steven T. Herron, Psychiatry
Georg Alex Hishaw, Neurology
Randy J. Horwitz, Allergy and Immunology & Internal Medicine
Richard A. Hoshaw, Dermatology
H. Eugene Hoyme, Medical Genetics
Scot M. Hutchison, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Julia H. Indik, Cardiovascular Disease
Wayne K. Jacobsen, Anesthesiology
David G. Johnson, Endocrinology and Metabolism & Clinical Pharmacology
Elizabeth B. Juneman, Cardiovascular Disease
Samuel Keim, Emergency Medicine 
Karl B. Kern, Cardiovascular Disease
Zain I. Khalpey, Thoracic Surgery
Chelsea Kidwell, Neurology
Scott E. Klewer, Pediatric Specialist
Marianne Klugheit, Psychiatry
Steven R. Knoper, Critical Care Medicine & Pulmonary Medicine
Kenneth S. Knox, Pulmonary Medicine & Critical Care Medicine
Monica Kraft, Asthma, General Pulmonary Medicine
Richard Kumet, Psychiatry
Randa M. Kutob, Family Medicine
David M. Labiner, Neurology
Richard D. Lane, Psychiatry

Christina Laukaitis, Medical Genetics & Internal Medicine
Daniela Lax, Pediatric Specialist
Patricia Lebensohn, Family Medicine
G. Michael Lemole, Jr., Neurological Surgery
Peter R. Lichtenthal, Anesthesiology
Scott Lick, Thoracic Surgery
Kapil Lotun, Cardiovascular Disease
Victoria Hope Maizes, Family Medicine
Michael J. Maricic, Rheumatology
Fernando D. Martinez, Pediatric Specialist
Laura Meinke, Critical Care Medicine
Harvey W. Meislin, Emergency Medicine
Robyn Meyer, Pediatric Specialist 
Joseph M. Miller, Pediatric Specialist & Ophthalmology
Margaret M. Miller, Rheumatology
Michael D. Miller, Orthopaedic Surgery
Alice A. Min, Emergency Medicine 
John Misiaszek, Psychiatry
Amy J. Montgomery, Pediatrics
Elizabeth A. Moran, Family Medicine
Francisco A. Moreno, Psychiatry
Bernard Martin Morenz, Psychiatry
Wayne J. Morgan, Pediatric Specialist
Jarrod Mosier, Critical Care Medicine & Emergency Medicine
Kevin Moynahan, Internal Medicine
Myra L. Muramoto, Family Medicine
Victoria E. Murrain, Family Medicine
David Neal, Surgery
Leigh Anne Neumayer, Surgical Oncology
Jon K. Nisbet, Orthopaedic Surgery
Wallace M. Nogami, Anesthesiology
Akinlolu Ojo, Nephrology
Tammy Clark Ojo, Pulmonary Medicine
Jerold J. Olson, Plastic Surgery
Peter Ott, Cardiovascular Disease
Charles W. Otto, Critical Care Medicine
Craig M. Palmer, Anesthesiology
Tejal M. Parikh, Family Medicine
Jessie Pettit, Family Medicine
Daniel O. Persky, Medical Oncology and Hematology
Deborah Jane Power, Pediatric Specialist & Rheumatology
Maria A. Proytcheva, Pediatric Specialist 
Daniel T. Redford, Anesthesiology
Kathryn L. Reed, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Elise C. Reinhard, Geriatric Medicine
Taylor Riall, Surgery 
Sydney Rice, Pediatric Specialist
Franz Rischard, Pulmonary Medicine
John T. Ruth, Orthopaedic Surgery
John C. Sakles, Emergency Medicine
Arthur B. Sanders, Emergency Medicine
V. Ana Sanguineti, Geriatric Medicine
Reid F. Schindler, Ophthalmology
Ziad M. Shehab, Pediatric Specialist
Shyam M. Shridharani, Orthopaedic Surgery
Jordan L. Smith, Orthopaedic Surgery
Kathy W. Smith, Pediatric Specialist & Psychiatry
Linda S. Snyder, Critical Care Medicine & Pulmonary Medicine
Richard E. Sobonya, Lung Pathology
Baldassarre D. Stea, Radiation Oncology
Raed A. Sukerji, Internal Medicine
Krista A. Sunderman, Family Medicine
Nancy K. Sweitzer, CARD
Andreas A. Theodorou, Pediatric Specialist
Maria S. Theodorou, Pediatrics
Ole Thienhaus, Psychiatry
Katri Typpo, Pediatric Specialist
Lisa M. Truchan, Orthopaedic Surgery
Monica Vandivort, Geriatric Medicine
Steve Wang, Otolaryngology
Richard A. Wahl, Pediatric Specialist
Frank Walter, Emergency Medicine
Karen Weihs, Psychiatry
Mark D. Wheeler, Pediatric Specialist
Gerald A. Wolff, Cardiovascular Disease
Dale P. Woolridge, Pediatric Specialist
Andrew M. Yeager, Medical Oncology and Hematology
Helena Yip, Otolaryngology


Contact: Nadia Whitehead, 520-626-9722,