College of Medicine – Tucson Announces 2019 Clinical Excellence Awardees

Thursday, October 24, 2019

To recognize and celebrate exemplary patient care, the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson established the Clinical Excellence Awards in 2018. The awards were conceived to recognize exceptional faculty members who exceed all standards of clinical excellence and inspire fellow peers on how to serve and care for patients.

Physicians at the assistant or associate professor level were nominated by colleagues in September. Nominees underwent rigorous review and were evaluated for their consistency in delivering exceptional clinical care; outstanding ability to assist and share expertise with colleagues; encouragement of medical students and residents to express ideas and ask questions; and use of innovative methods to assure positive clinical outcomes. 

Awardees also were selected for their sincere compassion for patients and humanistic approach to patient care and interactions with other health care professionals. 

The 2019 Clinical Excellence Awardees are: 

Amol Patwardhan, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Anesthesiology

Elaine Situ-Lacasse, MD
Assistant Professor, Emergency Medicine

Elizabeth Meehan, MD
Assistant Professor, Family & Community Medicine

Anil Potharaju, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Medicine

Janiel Cragun, MD
Associate Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology

John Heusinkveld, MD
Assistant Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology

Cindy Chin, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Pediatrics

Marion Henry, MD, MPH
Clinical Associate Professor, Surgery

Valentine Nfonsam, MD
Associate Professor, Surgery

Joel Funk, MD
Associate Professor, Urology

Awardees will be recognized formally with a plaque and monetary award at the UA College of Medicine – Tucson General Faculty Meeting. The meeting is scheduled from 4:30 – 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 20 in the Forum of the Health Sciences Innovation Building. Program begins at 5 p.m. Please RSVP here if you are interested in attending.