Student Affairs

Student Clubs

African American Medical Student Association (AAMSA)

Student group for African American medical students and those interested in AA health disparities.

AAMSA seeks to promote diversity and enrichment of the student body at UACOM. This club will serve as a medium to foster the development of African American medical students on our campus while serving as a resource for prospective medical students and provide a platform to address health disparities prevalent among the African American community.

Leadership:

Derana Barnhart, deranabarnhart@email.arizona.edu

Oumou Bah, oumoub@email.arizona.edu

Ismael Miller, ismaelmiller@email.arizona.edu

Aging Interest Group

This club promotes awareness of health issues pertaining to older patients across every specialty in medicine.  Students are invited to participate in the Senior Mentor Program, Geriatric Elective, volunteer events in the community, and physician shadowing/discussions.

Leadership:

Sai Shah (saishah@email.arizona.edu), Nathaniel Bridge (nbridge4@email.arizona.edu), Jake Matthews (jacobmatthews@email.arizona.edu)


 

American Medical Association (AMA)

Medical students are represented in the AMA through their own democratic, policy-making body: the American Medical Association - Medical Student Section (AMA-MSS).

Core Purpose
The AMA-MSS is dedicated to representing medical students, improving medical education, developing leadership, and promoting activism for the health of America.

Envisioned Future
The AMA-MSS strives to be the medical students' leading voice for improving medical education, advancing health care and advocating for the future of medicine.

National Delegate: William Collins, wicollins@email.arizona.edu
Alt/State Delegate: Sachin Mischra, skmishra@email.arizona.edu
Community Outreach Chair: Waheed Asif, wasif1@email.arizona.edu
Policy Chair: Ling Xie, lingxie@email.arizona.edu
Recruitment Chair: Amrutha Doniparthi, amruthad39@email.arizona.edu
Treasurer/Secretary: Jake Matthews, jacobmatthews@email.arizona.edu


 

American Medical Student Association (AMSA)

AMSA is a student-run organization that focuses on international health, student well-being, and minorities and women in medicine. 

Co-Presidents: Anthony McCoy(mccoy8@email.arizona.edu) and Thomas Larsen (tclarsen@email.arizona.edu)


 

American Medical Women's Association (AMWA)

This organization is dedicated to advancing women in medicine and improving women’s healthcare.

President: Brittany Gratreak, grat@email.arizona.edu
Co-Vice President: Swetha Atluri, satluri@email.arizona.edu
Co-Vice President: Kirsten Pickard, kdpickard@email.arizona.edu
Treasurer/Secretary: Alicia Sandoval, arsando4@email.arizona.edu
Community Outreach Chair: Chrissy Hall, christinehall@email.arizona.edu, and Megan Hauer, mhauer@email.arizona.edu


 

Anesthesia Interest Group (AIG)

The Anesthesia Interest Group (AIG) aims to promote an interest in anesthesiology and to foster mentoring relationships between medical students and anesthesiology faculty.

Leadership: Whitney Frick, wfrick@email.arizona.edu and Ramya Amesh, ramyaramesh@email.arizona.edu


 

Arizona Hematology Oncology Club

Cancer has become one of the leading causes of death in the world. As future doctors, we will all get to work and interact with a cancer patient on some level. It is important for us to understand the different aspects of the disease and to know how to approach such experiences. While it might look like this club is geared towards students that are interested in hematology and oncology, others might find some of our activities beneficial for them as well. We plan on incorporating more patient-centered lunch talks and possibly some volunteering activities.

Some of our current activities include lunch talks, bake sales and Relay for life. We are currently trying to come up with more activities and different ways to get involved in our local community and cancer prevention.

*Club is inactive for the 2020-2021 school year.


Arizona Surgery Club (ASC)

This organization provides an opportunity to learn about surgery through observation and interaction with other students and physicians.

President: Jeff Tolson, jptolson@email.arizona.edu

Vice President: Nathaniel Bridge, nbridge4@email.arizona.edu

Treasurer: Ling Xie, lingxie@email.arizona.edu

ASTEC Simulation Coordinator: Diego Urbina, diegojurbina@email.arizona.edu

Research Coordinator: Simeon Smith, simeonls@email.arizona.edu

Shadow Coordinator: Emily Wusterbarth, ewusterbarth@email.arizona

Plastic Surgery Chair: Daniel Kitts, danielkitts@email.arizona

Orthopedics Chair: John Raynak, jraynak@email.arizona.edu

Pediatric Chair: Matthew Murray, matthewm@email.arizona.edu


 

 
 
 
 

Asian/Pacific American Medical Student Association (APAMSA)

An organization that explores the unique issues and challenges that pertain to Asian/Pacific-American medical students.

President: Paul Nguyen, paulnguyen@email.arizona.edu
Co-Vice President: Brian Tran, briantran@email.arizona.edu
Co-Vice President: Kathy Kuang, kkuang@email.arizona.edu
Secretary: Kathy Ohe, kohe@email.arizona.edu
Treasurer: Bao Thai, baothai1995@email.arizona.edu
Outreach Coordinator: Jun Lee, jblee@email.arizona.edu
Undergraduate Liaison: Connor Vuong, cvoung@email.arizona.edu


 

Association of Native American Medical Students (ANAMS)

A group that supports Native American Medical Students and promotes Native American Health.

President: Natasha Hilt, nhilt@email.arizona.edu


 

Pages