Student Affairs

Student Clubs

African American Medical Student Association (AAMSA)

Student group for African American medical students and those interested in AA health disparities.

AAMSA seeks to promote diversity and enrichment of the student body at UACOM. This club will serve as a medium to foster the development of African American medical students on our campus while serving as a resource for prospective medical students and provide a platform to address health disparities prevalent among the African American community.

Leadership:

Derana Barnhart, deranabarnhart@email.arizona.edu

Oumou Bah, oumoub@email.arizona.edu

Ismael Miller, ismaelmiller@email.arizona.edu

Aging Interest Group

This club promotes awareness of health issues pertaining to older patients across every specialty in medicine.  Students are invited to participate in the Senior Mentor Program, Geriatric Elective, volunteer events in the community, and physician shadowing/discussions.

Leadership:

Sai Shah (saishah@email.arizona.edu), Nathaniel Bridge (nbridge4@email.arizona.edu), Jake Matthews (jacobmatthews@email.arizona.edu)


 

American Medical Association (AMA)

Medical students are represented in the AMA through their own democratic, policy-making body: the American Medical Association - Medical Student Section (AMA-MSS). The AMA-MSS is dedicated to representing medical students, improving medical education, developing leadership, and promoting activism for the health of America. The AMA-MSS strives to be the medical students' leading voice for improving medical education, advancing health care and advocating for the future of medicine.

Student Representative: Sakthi Kumar, sakthikumar@email.arizona.edu

 


 

American Medical Student Association (AMSA)

To support and empower future physicians in their academic and professional pursuits.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Kathy Smith, kwsmith@psychiatry.arizona.edu

Student Representative: Gabrielle Luu, gabrielleluu@email.arizona.edu


 

American Medical Women's Association (AMWA)

To promote health equity and empower women in medicine.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Tejal Parikh, tparikh@email.arizona.edu

Student Representative: Lauren Murphy, lamurphy@email.arizona.edu

 

 

Anesthesia Interest Group (AIG)

 

The Anesthesia Interest Group (AIG) aims to promote an interest in anesthesiology and to foster mentoring relationships between medical students and anesthesiology faculty.

 

** Club is inactive for the 2021-2022 School Year

Arizona Hematology Oncology Club

Cancer has become one of the leading causes of death in the world. As future doctors, we will all get to work and interact with a cancer patient on some level. It is important for us to understand the different aspects of the disease and to know how to approach such experiences. While it might look like this club is geared towards students that are interested in hematology and oncology, others might find some of our activities beneficial for them as well. We plan on incorporating more patient-centered lunch talks and possibly some volunteering activities.

Some of our current activities include lunch talks, bake sales and Relay for life. We are currently trying to come up with more activities and different ways to get involved in our local community and cancer prevention.

**Club is inactive for the 2020-2021 school year.


Arizona Surgery Club (ASC)

The goal of the Arizona Surgery Club is to provide an opportunity for medical students to explore a career in surgery through networking and interaction with other students and physicians.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Mohammad Khreiss, mkhreiss@surgery.arizona.edu

Student Representative: David Ahmadian, dahmadian@email.arizona.edu

 
 
 
 

Asian/Pacific American Medical Student Association (APAMSA)

Asian Pacific American Medical Student Association has been advocating for the health of Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) communities in our country. Our efforts are focused on advocacy, community outreach, research initiatives, chronic hepatitis B/C, bone marrow registry, mental health, cancer initiatives, and cross-cultural and cross-linguistic barriers to care.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Andrew Tang, atang@surgery.arizona.edu

Student Representative: Thien Hoang, thienhoang@email.arizona.edu

 

Association of Native American Medical Students (ANAMS)

A group that supports Native American Medical Students and promotes Native American Health.

President: Natasha Hilt, nhilt@email.arizona.edu


 

Pages