Student Affairs

Student Clubs

Association of Women Surgeons (AWS)

 

To promote health equity and empower women in medicine.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Tejal Parikh, tparikh@email.arizona.edu

Student Representative: Lauren Murphy, lamurphy@email.arizona.edu

Cardiology Interest Group

**This club is inactive for the 2020-2021 academic year

Cardiology Interest Group is a new student organization that seeks to connect opportunities and resources within the Sarver Heart Center to the UACOM student body. The goal is to provide medical students considering careers in non-invasive cardiology, interventional cardiology, electrophysiology, and other cardiology subspecialties with mentors and observing opportunities. The CIG is also developing and maintaining a database of research opportunities relating to cardiology or cardiothoracic surgery to serve as a resource for research-inclined medical students. Additionally, the interest group holds lunch talks and plans organized events to enhance medical student exposure to cardiology. The CIG accomplishes these objectives by maintaining relationships with teaching and research faculty.

Co-president: Christine Hall, christinehall@email.arizona.edu
Co-president: William James Collins, wjcollins@email.arizona.edu
Co-president: Kathy Ohe, kohe@email.arizona.edu

Christian Medical Society (CMS)

CMS is dedicated to supporting a community of students as they develop in their medical careers by promoting unity, compassion, and faith.

*Club is inactive during the 2019-2020 school year. 


 

Dermatology Interest Group

Promoting student interest in the field of Dermatology.

Coordinator: Kristi Poling, klpoling@email.arizona.edu
Coordinator: Sheyda Mesgarzadeh, smesgarzadeh@email.arizona.edu
Faculty Advisor: Jeff Krase, MD krase@email.arizona.edu
 

 


Doc-appella

Doc-appella is an a cappella group for medical students and faculty. We rehearse weekly and perform at events ranging from alumni reunions to talent shows to nursing homes. No prior singing experience necessary!

Music Director: Hannah Johnson, hjjohnson@email.arizona.edu


 

Emergency Medicine Interest Group

 

An organization to foster interest in the field of Emergency Medicine and to promote community service among medical students.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Vivienne Ng, vng@aemrc.arizona.edu

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Keith Primeau, kprimeau@aemrc.arizona.edu

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Jenny Plitt, jplitt@aemrc.arizona.edu

President: Tyler Bittner, Bittner@email.arizona.edu

VP: April Huckleberry, huckleberry@email.arizona.edu

Wilderness Medicine Chair: Connor Babbush, cbabbush@email.arizona.edu

Treasurer: Charis Royal, croyal@email.arizona.edu

Operations: Daniel Sadoway, dsadoway@email.arizona.edu


 

 

ENT Interest Club

 

The mission of the ENT interest group is to help students get exposed to head and neck surgery, otolaryngology, and subspecialties and to provide research and involvement opportunities to those interested in the field.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Shethal Bearelly, sbearelly@oto.arizona.edu

Student Representative: Leen Ayyoub, ayyoub1@email.arizona.edu

Student Representative: Drew Jauregui, drewjauregui@email.arizona.edu

Student Representative: Yash Suri,  yashsuri@email.arizona.edu

 

 


Family Medicine Interest Group

To engage and educate students interested in Family Medicine on the diverse opportunities in primary care through lessons on preventative medicine, primary care business models and outreach to prospective medical students.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Evelinda Gonzales-Pryor, Evelinda.Gonzales-Pryor@bannerhealth.com 

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Shana Semmens, Shana.Semmens@bannerhealth.com

Student Representative: Ruby Kerwin, rkerwin@email.arizona.edu 

Student Representative: Aileen Lee, aileenlee@email.arizona.edu 

Student Representative: Kate Anderson, kanderson4@email.arizona.edu 

Student Representative: Brianne Davis, bdavis72@email.arizona.edu

Student Representative: Mary Nguyen, marynguyen@email.arizona.edu
 


Flying Samaritans Club

This club flies down to Baja, Mexico each month for weekend trips to provide medical services to an underprivileged pueblo in Baja, Mexico. We travel with numerous physicians along with medical students who work as helpers and interpreters.

*Club is inactive during the 2019-2020 school year. 


 

Global Health Forum

This club focuses on awareness and action regarding international health issues, acting locally and globally.

Global Health Website: https://globalhealth.arizona.edu/distinction-tracks/med-student-track/global-health-forum

**Club is inactive for the 2020-2021 school year.**


Pages