Student Affairs

Student Clubs

Association of Women Surgeons (AWS)


To promote health equity and empower women in medicine.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Tejal Parikh,

Student Representative: Lauren Murphy,

Cardiology Interest Group

**This club is inactive for the 2020-2021 academic year

Cardiology Interest Group is a new student organization that seeks to connect opportunities and resources within the Sarver Heart Center to the UACOM student body. The goal is to provide medical students considering careers in non-invasive cardiology, interventional cardiology, electrophysiology, and other cardiology subspecialties with mentors and observing opportunities. The CIG is also developing and maintaining a database of research opportunities relating to cardiology or cardiothoracic surgery to serve as a resource for research-inclined medical students. Additionally, the interest group holds lunch talks and plans organized events to enhance medical student exposure to cardiology. The CIG accomplishes these objectives by maintaining relationships with teaching and research faculty.

Co-president: Christine Hall,
Co-president: William James Collins,
Co-president: Kathy Ohe,

Christian Medical Society (CMS)

CMS is dedicated to supporting a community of students as they develop in their medical careers by promoting unity, compassion, and faith.

*Club is inactive during the 2019-2020 school year. 


Dermatology Interest Group

Promoting student interest in the field of Dermatology.

Coordinator: Kristi Poling,
Coordinator: Sheyda Mesgarzadeh,
Faculty Advisor: Jeff Krase, MD



Doc-appella is an a cappella group for medical students and faculty. We rehearse weekly and perform at events ranging from alumni reunions to talent shows to nursing homes. No prior singing experience necessary!

Music Director: Hannah Johnson,


Emergency Medicine Interest Group


An organization to foster interest in the field of Emergency Medicine and to promote community service among medical students.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Vivienne Ng,

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Keith Primeau,

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Jenny Plitt,

President: Tyler Bittner,

VP: April Huckleberry,

Wilderness Medicine Chair: Connor Babbush,

Treasurer: Charis Royal,

Operations: Daniel Sadoway,



ENT Interest Club


The mission of the ENT interest group is to help students get exposed to head and neck surgery, otolaryngology, and subspecialties and to provide research and involvement opportunities to those interested in the field.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Shethal Bearelly,

Student Representative: Leen Ayyoub,

Student Representative: Drew Jauregui,

Student Representative: Yash Suri,



Family Medicine Interest Group

To engage and educate students interested in Family Medicine on the diverse opportunities in primary care through lessons on preventative medicine, primary care business models and outreach to prospective medical students.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Evelinda Gonzales-Pryor, 

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Shana Semmens,

Student Representative: Ruby Kerwin, 

Student Representative: Aileen Lee, 

Student Representative: Kate Anderson, 

Student Representative: Brianne Davis,

Student Representative: Mary Nguyen,

Flying Samaritans Club

This club flies down to Baja, Mexico each month for weekend trips to provide medical services to an underprivileged pueblo in Baja, Mexico. We travel with numerous physicians along with medical students who work as helpers and interpreters.

*Club is inactive during the 2019-2020 school year. 


Global Health Forum

This club focuses on awareness and action regarding international health issues, acting locally and globally.

Global Health Website:

**Club is inactive for the 2020-2021 school year.**