Student Affairs

Student Clubs

Integrative Medicine Interest Group

The goal of the Integrative Medicine Interest group is to better understand complementary and alternative medical practices within the medical community and to promote its awareness among students. We organize the fall elective courses, have guest speakers and discussion forums on all facets of integrative medicine.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Randy Horwitz, randyh@email.arizona.edu 

Student Representative: Lily Nguyen, ttnguy19@email.arizona.edu

Student Representative: Isabella Blum, blumisabella@email.arizona.edu

Student Representative: Kristi Poling, klpoling@email.arizona.edu

Internal Medicine Student Association

Educating medical students about the field of internal medicine and its various sub specialties. Trying to promote interest in IM residency and highlight its versatility through collaboration with the American College of Physicians.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Amy Sussman, asussman@deptofmed.arizona.edu

Student Representative: Meghana Partha, meghanapartha@email.arizona.edu

 

Interventional Radiology Interest Group (IRIG)

 

IRIG's purpose is to establish an interest in interventional radiology at the University of Arizona College of Medicine - Tucson while creating an inclusive environment for students, faculty, and staff to discuss IR-related topics and provide IR research and shadowing opportunities.

**Club is inactive for 2020-2021 school year**


Jewish Medical Student Association (JMSA)

JMSA's purpose is to create an inclusive community for Jewish medical students faculty members to interact, celebrate holidays, and engage in discussion.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Gordon, pgordon@medadmin.arizona.edu 

Student Representative: Jonathan Yasmeh, jpyasmeh@email.arizona.edu
Student Representative: Jarrod Rulney, jrulney@email.arizona.edu 

Latino Medical Student Association (LMSA)

Latino Medical Student Association is a national organization, and COMT is a chapter in the West region (https://west.lmsa.net/). The Latino Medical Student Association unites and empowers medical students through service, mentorship and education to advocate for the health of the Latinx community.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Jessica Moreno, morenoj@obgyn.arizona.edu 


Student Representative: Sofia Krause, sofiakrause@email.arizona.edu 
Student Representative: Lupita Molina, molinal@email.arizona.edu


Medcats for Developmental Medicine

The MedCats for Developmental Medicine is a collection of passionate peeps driven to use education, interaction, research, and policy advocacy to address the healthcare needs of individuals with developmental disabilities.

**Club is inactive for the 2020-2021 school year**


Medical Anthropology Interest Group

MAIG is committed to introducing the field of medical anthropology to medical students.

*Club is inactive for the 2019-2020 school year.


 

Medical Ethics Reality Forum (MERF)

The MERF hosts talks on real-world bioethical issues that we all may face as future physicians. In doing so, we hope to hone students' skills in critical thinking on difficult topics to develop their ability to navigate ethically complex issues in the future.

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Barry Morenz, barrym@psychiatry.arizona.edu

Student Representative: Andres F. Diaz, Andresfdiaz@email.arizona.edu
Student Representative: Jarrod Rulney, jrulney@email.arizona.edu 

 


Medical Research Student Association (MRSA)

MMSA’s purpose is to establish an inclusive environment for students, faculty, and staff to engage with each other religiously and socially.

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Ghassan Tranesh, gtranesh@pathology.arizona.edu

Co-coordinator: Afeefah Rashid, arrashid@email.arizona.edu
Co-coordinator: Tala Shahin, talabshahin@email.arizona.edu


 

Medical Students for Choice (MSFC)

To spread awareness of reproductive health issues and to ensure that women receive the full range of reproductive health care choices by organizing, advocating, training and supplementing our medical school curricula.

Faculty advisor: Dr. Herrick, herrickc@obgyn.arizona.edu

Student Representative: Maithili Khandekar, mkhandekar@email.arizona.edu

Student Representative: Kristi Poling, klpoling@email.arizona.edu

Student Representative: Isabella Blum, blumisabella@email.arizona.edu


Pages